Week 4 – Black Panther

I have to be honest, Black Panther was not the most exciting comic I have read so far. It was a little too wordy for my personal preferences, and the impact and problems that arose with regards to the political side of society was not that interesting to me. However, what I did find interesting were the Biblical connections I was able to make. I connected T’Challa’s story of a fallen and rejected king with the story of Jesus. I also found it hard to follow the plot for a couple reasons; first, the African names for places and characters made it difficult for me to remember who was who and what their significance was. Second, many parallel plot lines jumping back and forth made it difficult to follow all the plots and connect them together.

One quote that stood out to me in Black Panther was “We have proven we can punish the guilty, but can we protect the innocent”. I think this is an interesting quote that not a lot of superhero movies or comics really focus on too much, and I can see why. When I watch superhero movies, I concentrate on how the enemy is defeated, and when this task is done, everything is fine and everyone is happy. This quote made me think back to a lot of these movies I have watched which don’t usually tell us about the aftermath of “the final boss battle” where everything in New York City is destroyed. It usually ends with the hero(es) and civilians walking out from the rubble and celebrating, but we don’t really think about how many innocent people were killed in that battle and how much damage was actually done. I am certainly not saying that you are not allowed to enjoy a good fictional movie without it becoming a moral debate, but it is an interesting thought, and perhaps an area that I think has potential to be further explored.

6 thoughts on “Week 4 – Black Panther

  1. Hi Yoyo! I didn’t pick up on the biblical connections at all so thanks for pointing that out 🙂 I also struggled with how wordy Black Panther was. I was expecting to enjoy the style of a greater text to image ratio as I assumed it would be more similar to a book/get more detail from the text but I guess in the short time we have been studying superheroes my brain had gotten used to reading stories with less text! I really enjoyed the more realistic aspect to Black Panther of seeing the negative consequences that superhero battles have on the everyday citizen. I too think it is irritating how current superhero movies tend to gloss over this detail – although I guess it wouldn’t make for as satisfying a plot to go over all the death/destruction that occured as a resultof the heroes rather than just ending on the high of victory over the villain.

    Like

  2. Hi Yoyo,

    I really liked reading your post! I didn’t even think to make the connection between T’Challa and Jesus with the whole fallen king aspect of the story. I also enjoyed how the story took a focus on the aftermath and consequences of actions of superheroes and showed how it affected the average citizen. Overall great post!

    Like

  3. Hey, awesome post!!! I also enjoyed the look on the aftermath and consequences of superheroes and agree that is something that most superhero comics/movies seem to miss. But there is definitely a trend towards exploring these consequences. With content such as Batman vs Superman, Spider-man: Homecoming, Netflix’s: Daredevil and now Black Panther these consequences seem to be a major focus of the plot. It’s an interesting trend to see in modern superhero incarnations.

    Like

  4. It is always interesting when comics or movies look at the repercussions of heroes actions. I think that Marvel is starting to get that this idea is important and that heroes must own up to their actions. The repercussions of the Avengers movies are what caused the main problems in the Civil War and Spider-Man movies. It was awesome that you brought this up. Great Post!!!

    -Iain

    Like

  5. Hey Yoyo!
    I like the fresh take you took on Black Panther. I definitely feel that most movies and comics never really focus on collateral damage, or they casually brush it off. What i’d like to see is maybe a dramatic or sarcastic and ironic take on all the henchmen that get up after they’ve gotten beaten by a hero – imagine Penguin’s thugs just grabbing a casual beer and complaining about that stinkin’ batman!

    Like

  6. Hi Yoyo,
    I really enjoyed your blog post. I also found Black Panther to be a bit too wordy and it also wasn’t my favourite. I really enjoyed your points about the biblical references because I didn’t notice those myself.

    Like

Leave a comment